What is Order of the Eastern Star?

Our Mission

To make a positive difference in the world with charitable works, lasting friendships and loving kindness to all mankind.

Our Values

  • Trustworthiness
  • Dependability
  • Loyalty
  • Honesty
  • Friendship
  • Charity
  • Kindness






"The members of the Order of the Eastern Star are dedicated men and women who sincerely reflect the spirit of fraternal love and the desire to work together for good by giving their time to meaningful projects that benefit mankind.."

Organizational Structure

The General Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, was organized by a convention of delegates of independent Grand Chapters (the jurisdictional bodies over chapters in states or provinces) on the fifteenth and sixteenth days of November 1876. The official title of the organization is: General Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star. The office of the General Grand Chapter is located in our International Headquarters in Washington, D.C.

As shown in the chart at the right, the General Grand Chapter (GGC) serves as the hub for chapters subordinate to the GGC and the Grand Jurisdictions. The large red circle represents GGC. There are 46 states, 8 Canadian Provinces, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Bolivia, Sao Paulo (Brazil) and Italy that are Grand Jurisdictions joined by the GGC. These are represented by the blue circles.

New York and New Jersey are not a part of the GGC. They each have a slightly different Ritual and their own set of Laws. GGC and these two states have a harmonious relationship and exchange Grand Representatives with each other.

In each Grand Jurisdiction joined by GGC are several Chapters represented by the green circles extending from the blue circles. The geographical size governs the number of Chapters in each state or Province.

The yellow circles represent individual Chapters in the overseas countries that are directly governed by GGC. This includes Alaska and Hawaii as they do not have a Grand Chapter formed in their state.